top of page
  • Writer's pictureJorge Garcia

Cars freeze during winter in Winnipeg. So, what should I do?

Updated: Dec 13, 2022


When I started thinking about moving to Canada, I never thought how different would be to have a car here. I mean, it is just selling the one I have and then buying a car in Winnipeg, right? But, when you have never experienced living below -30°C, you know nothing about having a car during the winter.


Freezed car during cold Winnipeg weather
Freezed car during cold Winnipeg weather


How different is having a car in Winnipeg Weather from Latin American countries?


When you live in Latin America, you have never experienced extreme cold. Yes, I know, we wear jackets, hoodies, warm pyjamas, and even sometimes we use electric blankets to warm our beds. But have you ever thought about warming your car's engine? I had never heard about that until I arrived in Winnipeg.


When I first began looking for a used car in Winnipeg for sale, I started listening to some words I had never listened before. One Mexican friend asked me, “Does the car you are looking has Block Heater". Block heather? I mean, the engine? Why do I have to heat it? So, there you are, that was the first difference. In Winnipeg, during extremely cold days and nights, people plug their cars to keep the engine warm.


And speaking about warming, it was December when we arrived. My wife suggested: “Rent a car in Winnipeg to know the city and look for a place to live, that way we will be warm.” Great idea, cars have heating! So, we got a car, just in time because that night was going to be a blizzard. The next morning, (and without knowing about block heathers by the way) we jumped into the car at -30°C and obviously turned the heating on. Imagine our surprise when the air was cold!


That’s how I discovered another difference. The car’s heating doesn’t warm the air until the car engine is hot, and that can take around 10 minutes. But wait, are you willing to remain that time inside a freezer? Because that is how it feels inside a cold car. Just remember, the freezer at your house is -15°C, imagine at -30°C. If your answer is no, then you better know that is what the Remote Start is for.


And what about driving during winter in Winnipeg?


There are a lot of things to do in Winnipeg during the winter and I was worried about how to drive in the snow, I have never experienced that before. Something I realized is that people buy two sets of tires. One for the summer and the other for the winter season. Winter tires, are designed to better push snow between its surface and the road, improving the grip.


But snow is not the most struggling thing, ice is. The snow melts when the temperature rises during the day, and if then it quickly drops, an ice layer covers the road. You should consider changing your driving habits and start driving slowly. It is important to reduce speed, especially when turning if you don’t want to start spinning. Oh, and be aware of traffic lights, you don’t want to suddenly step on the breaks. That would result in everything but stopping your car.



Conclusion


Moving to a different country brings a lot of challenges, so it is better to make some research. There are some things you have never thought about but, that doesn’t mean someone can’t help you to discover more about them.


Some features are important to consider when buying a car in Winnipeg, even more, if you are a newcomer and this is going to be your first winter driving experience.


Prepare yourself and your family to adopt new habits that can help you to be secure. Remember, drive safely, and you will avoid getting into problems and facing a very difficult situation.


If you have not thought about these things before, budget a little higher your car purchase. Winter increases the risk and insurance costs as well. I will tell you later about what additional expenses to consider when budgeting.


Did you know about these differences? Do I miss some other differences? How was your first experience driving during the winter?


56 views0 comments
bottom of page